Even Being Overweight With 600 Pounds, Pat Knew Change Is Inevitable

 

Pat Brocco began his journey by walking to the store and finished being over 300 pounds lighter.

Walking 2 miles might not sound a lot, but when you’re over 600 pounds and rely on a walk for each and every one of your meals, it’s a different story.

What began as a childhood habit of fast-food-fueling; overeating quickly became scary after Pat’s doctor said the words “pre-diabetic,” “high blood pressure,” and “gastric bypass.” He might have taken small steps at first, but Pat finally shed over 300 pounds in three years. This is his success story.

pat

How the transition did take place?

Just started off walking at 600 pounds was hard, my feet were swollen and sore, knees hurt, and lived in a third-floor walk-up. By the time I got home, was exhausted. It was a challenge; both physical and a more mental.

How did you motivate yourself?

It used to take about 30 minutes to get to Walmart, and halfway back, I used to take a break. A lot of times, I’d got water and sit in the AC for seconds and then continue.

It wasn’t easy, but once started losing a little weight, that was motivating. It made me believe I could and I should.

How your sense of determination translated to other aspects of your life?

It taught me perseverance that kept me going on my weight-loss journey and other aspects of life.

Going from buying each meal to having more food in the house, were you not tempted?

The results kept me positive, focused, and motivated. I’ve taken weight of myself every day and I saw I lost a pound and never cheated on myself.

What was your meal plan?

Meal 1: Pre-workout breakfast

Egg Whites

Spinach (cup)

Oats (cup)

Almonds

Meal 2: Post-workout snack

Protein Powder

Almond Milk

Meal 3: Lunch

Chicken

Vegetables

Meal 4: Snack

Chicken

Vegetables

Brown Rice

Meal 5: Dinner

Steak

Vegetables

Brown Rice

Meal 6: Bedtime

Protein Shake

Did you take any supplements?

Whey protein
Cellucor Super HD Powder

How did you start your training program?

After 60 days of walking for meals and my near-100-pound weight loss, I decided to hit the gym. After losing all that weight, I was confident, but getting to the gym and still being too big for the 350-pound weight limit on the treadmill was insulting and painful.

Until lost some weight and felt comfortable enough to hit the gym, all what I did was walk to get my meals. Once I joined a gym, I was uncomfortable and didn’t know what I should do…even the stare of people made me feel uneasy. I didn’t fit on all the machines, so I made use the dumbbells or the cable machines. It’s all a matter of progression, and I was making progress every day. Now I’m an inspiration for many.

How did you find the will to continue?

Every time I was sore or tired or something felt too heavy, I thought about all the people who made fun of me all my life for being big; I felt that I had something to prove, mostly to myself.

What do your workouts look like now?

Day 1: Chest

(1) Barbell Incline Bench Press Medium-Grip

Superset

6 sets, 12-15 reps

(2) Pushups

5 sets, 15 reps

(3) Incline Dumbbell Press

Superset

4 sets, 12 reps

(4) Incline Dumbbell Flyes

4 sets, 10 reps

(5) Barbell Bench Press – Medium Grip

2 sets, 15 reps

(6) Dumbbell Flyes

2 sets, 15 reps

(7) Low Cable Crossover

2 sets, 15 reps

(8) Cable Rear Delt Fly

2 sets, 15 reps

Day 2: Back

(1) Underhand Cable Pulldowns

4 sets, 15 reps

(2) Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown

4 sets, 15 reps

(3) Bent Over Barbell Row

4 sets, 12 reps

(4) Seated Cable Rows

3 sets, 12-15 reps

(5) Reverse Machine Flyes

4 sets, 15 reps

(6) One-Arm Dumbbell Row

Superset

3 sets, 15 reps

(7) Pushups

3 sets, 10 reps

Day 4: Chest and Back

(1) Barbell Deadlift

3 sets, 10-12 reps (2)

One-Arm Dumbbell Row

4 sets, 10 reps

(3) Butterfly

3 sets, 15 reps

(4) Smith Machine Incline Bench Press

4 sets, 12 reps

(5) Barbell Bench Press – Medium Grip

Superset

4 sets, 12 reps

(6) Push-Up Wide

4 sets, 20 reps

(7) Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown

4 sets, 12 reps

(8) Wide-Grip Pulldown Behind The Neck

3 sets, 15 reps

Day 5: Arms

(1) Triceps Pushdown – Rope Attachment

3 sets, 15 reps

(2) Underhand Cable Pulldowns

3 sets, 12-15 reps

(3) Reverse Grip Triceps Pushdown

3 sets, 15 reps

(4) Dumbbell Bicep Curl

3 sets, 12 reps

(5) Reverse Barbell Curl

3 sets, 12 reps

(6) Hammer Curls

3 sets, 15 reps

What are your future fitness plans?

Fitness saved my life, and I plan on helping others save theirs through fitness as well.

What are your suggestions for aspiring transformers?

If you can’t think of anything more genuine, think of yourself, about your wellness. It won’t happen overnight, and it won’t be that easy. You might even fail, but nothing great comes with ease. Just use failure as a stepping stone and as a lesson and continue.

What do you hope to do from here?

Once I was got confident enough to share my story, I realized that people were following me for that reason. I even shared my loose-skin surgery live on Snapchat. I just want to show that regardless of what you’re trying to do, there’s always a way.

With this we conclude.

Keep looking into this space by CRB Tech Solutions for more on wellness and fitness.

CRB Tech WordPress

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

